Orlando Tirado, Newman's Own, Inc. Residency, 2015/ photo by Oron Pejic

Sponsored Residencies

Sponsored residencies support Yaddo’s mission by underwriting the cost of visits by creative artists. These residencies are underwritten both in perpetuity, with an endowed fund, and annually, and reflect such shared areas of interest as artists’ geographic origin, discipline, or focus, such a science education.


Elizabeth Ames Residency

Established in 2006 for an artist working in any discipline. Offered every other year in honor of Yaddo’s first Executive Director. Designee to be named in 2016.

Milton and Sally Michel Avery Residency for a Visual Artist

Established in 1985 by Yaddo artist Sally Michel Avery in honor of her late husband, Milton, who was also a Yaddo artist. Designee in 2015: Dushan Petrovich.

Louise Bourgeois Residency for a Sculptor

Established in 1995 by Louise Bourgeois to support young sculptors. Designee in 2015: Ron Baron.

Abigail Angell Canfield and Cass Canfield Jr. Residency for Writers

Established in 2004 by Mr. and Mrs. Cass Canfield Jr. to support one writer, preferably from Latin America, every other year. Designee deferred.

Eli Cantor Residency for Writers

Established in 1984 in honor of the Yaddo writer. Designee in 2015: Alex Shakar.

David Del Tredici Residency for a Composer, funded by the Aaron Copland Fund for Music

Established in 2013 by the Aaron Copland Fund for Music. Designee in 2015: Michael Harrison.

Philip Guston and Musa McKim Residency

Established in 2004 by Musa Guston Mayer in honor of her parents, Yaddo artists Philip Guston and Musa McKim, to support a visual artist or a poet. Designee in 2015: Ben Pederson.

Curtis Harnack Residency for Writers

Established in 1984 in honor of the Yaddo writer and former Yaddo President. Designee in 2015: Wil Hylton.

Dorothy and Granville Hicks Residency in Literature

Established in 1983 by Stephanie Craib in honor of her mother, Dorothy, and father, Granville Hicks, who served as Acting Executive Director of Yaddo in 1970, to support young and promising writers. Designee in 2015: Reese Kwon.

Patricia Highsmith-Plangman Residency

Established in 1995 by Yaddo artist Patricia Highsmith. Designee in 2015: Sharon Butler.

The LeSage-Fullilove Residency for a Writer

Established in 2004 in honor of Dr. Alain LeSage and Dr. Roland (Jack) Fullilove to support a young or emerging writer of exceptional talent and promise. Designee in 2015: John McManus.

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Residencies

Established in 1990 by The MacArthur Foundation. Designees in 2015: Sam Lipsyte and Shaka King.

Meredith S. Moody Residency

Established in 1997 by the Moody family for a female photographer in honor of the late Meredith S. Moody. Designee in 2015: Alma Leiva.

The Carson McCullers Endowment Residency

Established in 2014 for artists in any discipline. Designees in 2015: Maureen McLane and Brian Christian.

Howard Moss Residency in Poetry

Established in 1991 in honor of the late poet and Yaddo Board member. Designee in 2015: Dennis Nurkse.

Ann Wadsworth Olberg Residency for Creative Writers

Established in 2006 by Yaddo poet and Member of the Corporation Gardner McFall and Peter Olberg in memory of his mother, Ann Wadsworth Olberg, for a poet or fiction writer having a special relationship to the State of Iowa through birth, residence, or education. Designee to be named in 2017.

Plumsock Endowed Residency

Established in 1995 to support creative artists, preferably from Central America. Designee in 2015: Pilar Gallego.

Yvonne Porter Endowed Residency

Established in 2000 by the Louisa Stude Sarofim Charitable Trust to honor Yvonne Porter, and awarded every other year to an artist working in any discipline and residing in Texas. Designee to be named in 2016.

Donald and Genie Rice Residency

Established in 2001 by Donald and Genie Rice to support a filmmaker. Designee in 2015: Mark Kendall.

George Rickey Endowed Residency

Established by the artist in 2000 to support young visual artists. Designee in 2015: Jinnie Seo.

Nora Sayre Residency for a Nonfiction Writer

Established in 2006 in honor of the Yaddo writer Nora Sayre and awarded every third year. Designee in 2015: Alex Halberstadt.

Alma B.C. Schapiro Residency for a Woman Painter

Established by the M.A. Schapiro Fund in honor of the late painter Alma B. C. Schapiro. Designee in 2015: Danielle Orchard.

James Silberman and Selma Shapiro Residency

Established in 2004 by Selma Shapiro and James Silberman to support a writer and awarded every other year. Designee to be named in 2016.

Janet Sloane Endowed Residency

Established in 1996 by Alfred Z. Solomon in honor of his late sister, a Member of the Corporation. Designee in 2015: David Storey.

Iphigene Ochs Sulzberger Residency

Established by The New York Times Foundation in honor of Iphigene Ochs Sulzberger. Designee in 2015: Cris Beam.

Michael and Nina Sundell Residency

Established in 2001 in honor of Michael Sundell, former President of Yaddo, and his wife, Nina, to support a creative artist in any medium. Designee in 2015: Anthony Weigh.

The Sundell Residency for Special Assistants

Established by Nina Sundell in 2013, in honor of Michael Sundell, to support the visits of four creative artists, working in any medium, who served as Special Assistants to the President. Designees in 2014: Cathy Bowman, David Colagiovanni, Paul Festa, and Michael Snediker.

Harriet and Esteban Vicente Residency

Established by Harriet and Esteban Vicente in 2001 to support a painter, preferably from Spain. Designee deferred.

Jane Adams Wait Residency

Established in 1996 by The Adirondack Trust Company to honor the dedication and service of Jane A. Wait to the Corporation of Yaddo, to support a composer or choreographer. Designee in 2015: Dalit Warshaw.

Wallace Foundation Residency for Distinguished Writers

Established in 1983 by The Dewitt Wallace Fund/Reader’s Digest Foundation. Designee in 2015: Lysley Tenorio.

The White Flowers Residency for Composers

Established in 2001 by Chris Flowers and Mary White to support a composer. Designee in 2015: Paul Moravec.

Bernard V. Winebaum Residency

Established in 1995 by the estate of poet and visual artist Bernard V. Winebaum to support creative artists, with a preference for those from northern New England. Designee in 2015: Ben Nugent.


Amazon Literary Partnership Residency for a Writer

Established in 2013 in support of Yaddo’s New York City Benefit. Designees in 2015: Marian Crotty and Teresa Fazio.


Established by an anonymous Yaddo artist to support artists preferably working in film, video, or performance art. Designees in 2015: Adam Frelin, Lei Lei, and Kjersten Rossi.

Hudson River Bank and Trust Co. Foundation Residency

Established by the Hudson River Bank and Trust Co. Foundation in 2012 to support an artist working in any discipline living in Columbia County. Designee differed.

Newman’s Own, Inc. Residency

Established in 1996 by Newman’s Own, Inc. to support playwrights, screenwriters, and filmmakers. Designees in 2015: Trish Harnetiaux and Orlando Tirado.

National Endowment for the Arts Residency for Collaborative Teams

Established in 2015 by the NEA to support artistic collaborative teams. Designees in 2015: Jay Bernard/Rosie Haber, Gavin Kovite/Christopher Robinson, and Ryan Pfeiffer/Rebecca Walz.

New York State Council on the Arts Residency in Film and Electronic Media

Established in 2010 to support the residency of a filmmaker or media artist. Desgnee in 2015: Rodney Evans.

Martha Walsh Pulver Residency for a Poet

Established in 2001 by the family of Martha Walsh Pulver in her honor, to support a female poet. Designee in 2015: Diana Bridge.